Welcome to the Yamaha Star Bolt Motorcycle Forum

Why join our motorcycle community?

  • Membership is free and easy
  • Get technical support and information for your Yamaha Star Bolt motorcycle or search for information before buying
  • Use the member map to find riders near you
  • Participate in our monthly virtual bike show (or at least vote)
  • Get rid of these annoying boxes asking you to register  ;D

More importantly, make new friends!!

Author Topic: Samios Ecu flash on Euro 4 models  (Read 1622 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ats90

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Samios Ecu flash on Euro 4 models
« on: June 25, 2019, 02:25:47 am »
So i have been wanting to do Ecu flash for my bolt and contacting Samios motorsport (Ivan European partner) he says that he have check engine light issue and they dont support 2018 models. I contacted him in 2018 summer and now in 2019 - same issue. He says that he dont have the bolt in his shop to figure this out. I assume if he havent figured this out by now then he will never figure this out. Bolt is not getting any popular. I want my bolt running as good as i can and get the full benefits of the flash but im not willing to ride around with check engine light popping in my eye all the time. I have talked with one guy who flashed his ecu in samios and put 20000km on his bolt with check engine light and he said he hasnt had any problems. I would love to talk with Ivan about this but my english is what it is and i cant find any email address. Theres are some really smart guys here so anybody got an idea why flash causes check engine light on euro 4  models? I assume all euro 4 motorcycles should have this problem? Also what other options i have to get it flashed?




Offline bedheadjulian

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1119
Re: Samios Ecu flash on Euro 4 models
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2019, 02:14:27 am »
What about getting a used ECU from an older model?

Offline Madcat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Samios Ecu flash on Euro 4 models
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2019, 03:01:44 am »
I own a Euro 4 Bolt to, and this is very interesting to me.
I don't know if using an older model ECU will be Ok. I don't know the differences between Euro 4 engine and previous models, but Euro 4 is lower in emissions and it has a couple more bhp's. May be just electronics, may be not.

  • Advertisement

Offline ats90

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: Samios Ecu flash on Euro 4 models
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2019, 04:20:20 am »
Ecu swap is not something what interest me. I did some research. I have air intake waiting to be installed but what i have read that bolt is running lean even with stock airbox what is really restrictive. Altough some say ecu and o2 sensor should handle faster airflow.Theres so much power to be gained with air intake and just to be safe i might try out booster plug. Booster plug itself doesnt add any power but the air intake does and if booster will do its trick by forcing more fuel in the mixture in open loop there should be nice benefits when accelerating and i can use my air intake. I quess thats my only option because ecu flash is unavailable and fuel controllers and power commanders seems just too complicated and time and money consuming. Its all theory and what i have read and im no mechanic 😁 Gonna keep you guys updated. https://www.boosterplug.com/shop/frontpage.html
« Last Edit: June 26, 2019, 07:51:21 am by ats90 »

Offline strummer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 451
Re: Samios Ecu flash on Euro 4 models
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2019, 07:06:08 am »
Hi
You might not be interested but I have been riding my 2015 European Bolt since the beginning with air intake and Phyton slip on.
NO Ecu
NO fuel controller
NO ISSUES
35.000 KM  ( less than 22.000 miles) more or less
Peace & Anarchy

Offline ats90

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: Samios Ecu flash on Euro 4 models
« Reply #5 on: June 26, 2019, 08:28:56 am »
Thats good to know that your bike runs well. Euro 4 emission standards came in 2017. Im pretty sure my bike is leaned out more. At idle trying to start off with clutch my bike dies without giving gas. It pops like a a freaking cannon and sometimes engine dies just from idle. Also the jerkiness. I might be fine if i change the air intake but booster plug should fix all above symptons aswell. I will give it a bit testing with air intake + booster plug and without. Also i found out theres a german tune shop where they flash euro 4 bolt aswell 😊 Thats an option aswell but its a bit pricey. Over 400+ euros.

Offline ats90

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: Samios Ecu flash on Euro 4 models
« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2019, 04:31:19 pm »
Giving an update whos interested in blooster plug. Today i installed it and sadly it was a total dissapointment for me. Gonna send it back as soon as possible. At first the bike was smooth and seemed like the booster plug worked but after riding 10-15 min bike started to act really wierd. When i tryed to hard accelerate it felt like bike choked for millisecond and it hasnt happened before. Anyways i didnt feel any noticeable improvement. I would say my bike runned better without it. Also it felt like ECU was fighting against it and made my bike act wierd.

Offline bedheadjulian

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1119
Re: Samios Ecu flash on Euro 4 models
« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2019, 04:44:29 pm »
Also i found out theres a german tune shop where they flash euro 4 bolt aswell 😊 Thats an option aswell but its a bit pricey. Over 400+ euros.

Very cool, thanks for sharing!

Let us know what you find out about the German flash... especially if they also eliminate the fuel-cut and smooth out the throttle "roll-on" curve? Those are the two biggest advantages I found with Ivan/Samios flash, (apart from better acceleration of course) ... totally eliminated the jerky throttle that I was never really happy with ;)  My Bolt is a first generation, so no error codes, but it would be nice for the other members with newer bikes to have another option.

and sorry to hear the booster plug was a bust, would have been a really inexpensive solution...

Offline Dubdubz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Samios Ecu flash on Euro 4 models
« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2021, 08:21:41 am »
Also i found out theres a german tune shop where they flash euro 4 bolt aswell 😊 Thats an option aswell but its a bit pricey. Over 400+ euros.

Intrigued as a new UK Bolt owner what the options are - I have V&H exhuast and airfilter - I like the sound but the popping on overun was fun for 1 ride  :(

can someone point me in the direction of 2019 Bolt mapping please?

Offline Dubdubz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Samios Ecu flash on Euro 4 models
« Reply #9 on: July 12, 2021, 01:27:42 pm »
I checked in with Samios and they (Ivan and him) are not progressing with the Euro4 ECU quirk - as Euro4 didnt get to US as I understand it and Samios doesnt have access to a suitable bike in Greece. And whilst I am happy to assist thats a long way to ride  :o

so I'm not sure what the options are but I am going to speak to a local firm - who for some reason I completely forgot about

I'll keep you posted for those that care...

Offline Dubdubz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Samios Ecu flash on Euro 4 models
« Reply #10 on: July 13, 2021, 07:13:24 am »
Local guy came back and said that only option was for a cobra fi2000 or Dynojet as it was not on his list of ecus he could tune  :(

Question is which one of the less good (than a ECU flash) options do I pick?

It seems the Bolt interest has dwindled in recent years as posts are way less frequent than in 2016/17?

Im thinking, half jokingly, I should have bought a HD

Offline dogbrained

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Samios Ecu flash on Euro 4 models
« Reply #11 on: July 13, 2021, 08:52:04 am »
"Im thinking, half jokingly, I should have bought a HD"

I have this thought quite often. I've also got a 2013 Roadliner and it's a great motorcycle (discontinued in 2014) but the support from Yamaha and the service from my local dealer (Babbitt's) leaves a lot to be desired. I think they'd like it if their "big" cruisers would go away. I have no reason to think that Bolt owners will be treated any different once Yamaha "kills" the Bolt. Like them or not Harley's seem to be supported forever (figuratively).
Protect Your Boys.

Offline DrM

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 548
Re: Samios Ecu flash on Euro 4 models
« Reply #12 on: July 13, 2021, 09:59:01 am »
Local guy came back and said that only option was for a cobra fi2000 or Dynojet as it was not on his list of ecus he could tune  :(

Question is which one of the less good (than a ECU flash) options do I pick?

It seems the Bolt interest has dwindled in recent years as posts are way less frequent than in 2016/17?

Im thinking, half jokingly, I should have bought a HD
Just my opinion (and some here will disagree), but you don't really need a flash or a fuel controller.  several Bolt owners (including myself) have aftermarket exhausts and air cleaners and don't have a flash or fuel controller, and we run without any problem.  The topic of backfires and burbles is more one of perception caused mostly by the rider twitching the throttle.  And even when it does occur, most of us like the sound.

Offline Dubdubz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Samios Ecu flash on Euro 4 models
« Reply #13 on: July 13, 2021, 12:02:40 pm »
"Im thinking, half jokingly, I should have bought a HD"

I have this thought quite often. I've also got a 2013 Roadliner and it's a great motorcycle (discontinued in 2014) but the support from Yamaha and the service from my local dealer (Babbitt's) leaves a lot to be desired. I think they'd like it if their "big" cruisers would go away. I have no reason to think that Bolt owners will be treated any different once Yamaha "kills" the Bolt. Like them or not Harley's seem to be supported forever (figuratively).

I bought the Yam cos it was considered better - better value, better handling etc
Aftermarket is just a little weaker than the multi million $ HD

and here in the UK the bolt is dead - Euro5 emissions means it is no longer being made - so my alternative to HD choices are getting smaller  8)

Offline Dubdubz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Samios Ecu flash on Euro 4 models
« Reply #14 on: July 13, 2021, 12:14:54 pm »
Local guy came back and said that only option was for a cobra fi2000 or Dynojet as it was not on his list of ecus he could tune  :(

Question is which one of the less good (than a ECU flash) options do I pick?

It seems the Bolt interest has dwindled in recent years as posts are way less frequent than in 2016/17?

Im thinking, half jokingly, I should have bought a HD
Just my opinion (and some here will disagree), but you don't really need a flash or a fuel controller.  several Bolt owners (including myself) have aftermarket exhausts and air cleaners and don't have a flash or fuel controller, and we run without any problem.  The topic of backfires and burbles is more one of perception caused mostly by the rider twitching the throttle.  And even when it does occur, most of us like the sound.

Thank you - I would agree apart from the decel pops are just too much. I do not want to go back to stock.
I was hoping to 'tune' this out...I did send a message to BenSCR to see if he ever fixed the EML warning lamp.

I am not looking to get power - its a small CC engine for cruising - its not a sports or a tourer bike; I did not want one of those this time

Dynojet or Cobra seem to be high on the list - unless there is a workaround but struggling to get real world views beyond Spiros saying Euro4 is an issue that they can't fix....

@arealjighead said on another post
Now this may be different with the Euro model but it sounds like the same problem that us in the States get & here is the solution...
I've had my ECU flashed & the engine light also came on. There is a simple fix however. All you need to do is connect the O2 sensor for a little while till the code clears. Once it clears you can then either unhook it, which others have claimed the light has never came back on, or keep it plugged in since the flash is suppose to bypass the O2 sensor anyways, Ivan said it shouldn't matter. Hope this helps with clearing your code

edit: to add - I don't mind paying and trying my concern is if the EML did come on and then I send the ECU back to Spiros to return to stock code but this does not clear the EML - I end up making my bike relatively unsaleable.

« Last Edit: July 13, 2021, 12:17:27 pm by Dubdubz »