Welcome to the Yamaha Star Bolt Motorcycle Forum

Why join our motorcycle community?

  • Membership is free and easy
  • Get technical support and information for your Yamaha Star Bolt motorcycle or search for information before buying
  • Use the member map to find riders near you
  • Participate in our monthly virtual bike show (or at least vote)
  • Get rid of these annoying boxes asking you to register  ;D

More importantly, make new friends!!

Author Topic: [Help] Need some guidance with cable lengths for new bars  (Read 1703 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline shotmybolt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
[Help] Need some guidance with cable lengths for new bars
« on: July 01, 2020, 12:49:41 pm »
Hi all.

Settled on the attached bars but having a hard time figuring out what lengths my new cables should be - I can manage whatever the brake line length is, and whatever the electrical extension/routing i need to do, i just need to be sure on the clutch and throttle cables.

If anyone can hit me with some knowledge it'd be GREATLY appreciated.



Offline DrM

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 500
Re: [Help] Need some guidance with cable lengths for new bars
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2020, 05:15:42 pm »
I have similar, but slightly smaller z-type handlebars.  You'll likely find your OEM stock front brake line very restrictive.  You could just release it at the attachment point on the front fender, or replace it with a longer extended brake line (which is what I did.)  You will likely need to reroute your electrical wiring to the hand controls on the handlebars, which might entail unwrapping some of them to gain more slack.  I didn't have to put on any extended cables on the clutch or throttle, but you might want to reroute those cables to gain more slack, or just buy some extended cables.  A lot of it is trial and error -- take it apart and see what might work by rerouting, and if it isn't enough, then buy some extended cable something between 2" and 6" longer.

Offline joko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 700
Re: [Help] Need some guidance with cable lengths for new bars
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2020, 05:54:03 pm »
I have these tcbros bars:

http://www.tcbroschoppers.com/tcbros-1-slant-z-handlebars-black.html


If I'm doing the conversion right, your bars are slightly wider and taller.

For me, stock cables worked fine but I was pretty much at the limit.  I also had to disconnect the brake line from the fender like DrM mentioned.

If rerouting the cables doesn't work, you'll probably have to get some longer cables, maybe somewhere between 4-6 inches longer I think.

  • Advertisement

Offline shotmybolt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: [Help] Need some guidance with cable lengths for new bars
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2020, 01:15:28 pm »
I think i'll go with +6" as i can deal with some slack, but not coming up short.

Do we know how much longer the yamaha extended cables are?

Offline shotmybolt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: [Help] Need some guidance with cable lengths for new bars
« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2020, 02:11:48 pm »
Ah, extended cables are +2"

Guess i'll spend a little time seeing how close i can get the stock cables and measure from there.

Offline DrM

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 500
Re: [Help] Need some guidance with cable lengths for new bars
« Reply #5 on: July 02, 2020, 04:10:54 pm »
How long your cables need to be also depend on how high your hand grips are going to ride.  If your new bars are mostly pulling back rather than riding high, you may not need much, or any extension after you reroute the cables so they don't wrap around the triple head.  But if you are going straight up above your shoulders, then you might need a lot of extension.  I locate my bars by sitting in the seat normally with the news bars on, and tightened just enough so I can move them up or down and they will stick there.  Then I will simply pull back on them and where they wind up is just where I like them.  That's not necessarily where you want your bars, but I believe you must first set your new bars where you want them, then figure out whether you can reach them by rerouting.

Offline srinath

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 815
Re: [Help] Need some guidance with cable lengths for new bars
« Reply #6 on: July 02, 2020, 04:45:57 pm »
I wonder if its cheaper to buy cables from Yamaha for an SCR.
In the mid 00's we figured naked SV1000 cables and SV1KS cables were the same $$$ from Suzuki even though naked was 4-5" longer.
Cool.
Srinath.

Offline shotmybolt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: [Help] Need some guidance with cable lengths for new bars
« Reply #7 on: July 02, 2020, 05:05:40 pm »
now that is an interesting idea!

Offline shotmybolt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: [Help] Need some guidance with cable lengths for new bars
« Reply #8 on: July 02, 2020, 05:17:00 pm »
Just remembered that Venhill do clutch / throttle / break lines. Made to order. Good quality and great prices. Plus a discount as trade through work.

I'll get my measurements done and i'll 100% be on the phone to them!

Offline rexposeidon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: [Help] Need some guidance with cable lengths for new bars
« Reply #9 on: April 06, 2021, 05:09:42 pm »
I used motion pro extended cables and a custom front brake line from Galfer.  Check them out they do amazing work.
Live to Ride, Ride to Live.

Offline AZ Desert Wolf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: [Help] Need some guidance with cable lengths for new bars
« Reply #10 on: May 26, 2021, 02:32:54 pm »
I was going to post a new question on handlebars, but since this one is related, I will pipe in here.  I was considering getting the Baron 8" Skinny Apes (https://www.denniskirk.com/baron-custom-accessories/8-gloss-black-skinny-ape-hangers-ba-7350-08b.p599440.prd/599440.sku), but cannot determine the best option for cables.  Yamaha makes OEM stainless braided "extended length" cables and brake line (https://www.shopyamaha.com/product/details/extended-length-braided-stainless-steel-control-ca?b=Sport+Heritage+Accessories&d=47&ls=yamaha-motor-company), but it does not tell you how much longer they actually are and when I asked the guy at the local dealer, he said they do not have that info (really?).  Has anyone used the Baron bars or those Yamaha cables?  Any input would be helpful.  Also, if there's any fellow Phoenix area Bolt owners that have such bars on their bike that I can check out to confirm I want them, I'll meet you somewhere and buy you a beer just so I can look at them.  Hell, I'll buy you a 6 pack if you have the same bars, just so I can see them.  ;D

Offline DrM

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 500
Re: [Help] Need some guidance with cable lengths for new bars
« Reply #11 on: May 26, 2021, 07:38:04 pm »
I think read somewhere that the Yamaha extended cables were 2" longer than the regular cables, but I might be wrong. That may be enough if you also reroute your cables from forward to aft of the triple head.  A lot depend on how you place those bars on your bike.  If you want them straight up you might need or want more extension.  If you slant them towards you, then you probably need less to no extension if you reroute.  Of course, if you want the cabling in its original position (forward of the triple head) then you might need more extension than 2".
 
I have about 8" 0f rise on my handle bars and only rerouted my cables, and didn't need any extended cabling, but I would like some more extension on the clutch side.  I did need to install an extended front brake hose.  You are also likely to need an extended brake hose, and 2" might be enough, especially if you release the front brake hose clamp to the frame.

Don't forget the electric wiring to the handlebar controls.  You likely can find extra slack on the wiring by unwrapping the wire loom back to somewhere under the tank where it joins another wire loom.  Hopefully you find enough slack by rerouting the wiring so you don't have to insert wire extensions.

Good luck on your project -- for me it was a buy the bars and see what works in the way or rerouting.       


Offline AZ Desert Wolf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: [Help] Need some guidance with cable lengths for new bars
« Reply #12 on: May 26, 2021, 11:34:12 pm »
Thanks DrM.  I'd be surprised if they were only a couple of inches longer, given the absurd $275 cost for the full set of throttle, clutch and front brake, but if that were the case, I would need something longer anyway. If I'm going to spend the greenbacks, I would prefer to get cables that are long enough to use the original routing with the bars I want...and that is the key question, as I would prefer to check them out on an existing bolt first if possible.  I know when I test rode a Harley 1200 sporty with the stock mini apes, I thought the position of the bars was ideal, but it may feel different on a bolt.  Given that I got my bolt for about 1/2 of what the Harley would've cost and it IS reliable, I did not opt for the sporty.  BTW, noticed you also have the Cobra slip on, as I do.  Have to love the sound!  ;D
Ride safe!

Offline ShakerNorm

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5383
Re: [Help] Need some guidance with cable lengths for new bars
« Reply #13 on: May 27, 2021, 07:34:29 am »
I didn't know that Yamaha had extended wiring!  Where would I find it if I need it?  I'm getting new bars (nothing too crazy - I just need to sit up a bit straighter or my back complains) and might need it - although I hope not.  Where does everybody find most of the slack in the stock wiring?  Is there slack under the tank, or would I have to unwrap the whole wiring loom?

I'm going to wait till I got the new bars in my hands before I start worrying about new hoses and cables, but I expect I'll need those, too, but those should be relatively easy to measure.
NOBODY hates winter more than a Canadian Biker!

Offline DrM

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 500
Re: [Help] Need some guidance with cable lengths for new bars
« Reply #14 on: May 27, 2021, 01:45:26 pm »
I didn't know that Yamaha had extended wiring!  Where would I find it if I need it?  I'm getting new bars (nothing too crazy - I just need to sit up a bit straighter or my back complains) and might need it - although I hope not.  Where does everybody find most of the slack in the stock wiring?  Is there slack under the tank, or would I have to unwrap the whole wiring loom?

I'm going to wait till I got the new bars in my hands before I start worrying about new hoses and cables, but I expect I'll need those, too, but those should be relatively easy to measure.
I unwrapped the tape from the hand control(s) from where it joined other cables to down under the tank somewhere - and that is where I found a loop in the cable that I stretched out and got plenty slack  for rerouting.  I sort of remember that was from the clutch hand-lever.  The only wiring extension I have found was 1) what SS Custom Cycles included in their forward foot control set for the foot brake, and 2) an extension wiring with matching connectors for relocating the rear turn signals (which I think I posted in this forum somewhere.)