Welcome to the Yamaha Star Bolt Motorcycle Forum

Why join our motorcycle community?

  • Membership is free and easy
  • Get technical support and information for your Yamaha Star Bolt motorcycle or search for information before buying
  • Use the member map to find riders near you
  • Participate in our monthly virtual bike show (or at least vote)
  • Get rid of these annoying boxes asking you to register  ;D

More importantly, make new friends!!

Author Topic: [Help] Need some guidance with cable lengths for new bars  (Read 850 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline shotmybolt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
[Help] Need some guidance with cable lengths for new bars
« on: July 01, 2020, 12:49:41 pm »
Hi all.

Settled on the attached bars but having a hard time figuring out what lengths my new cables should be - I can manage whatever the brake line length is, and whatever the electrical extension/routing i need to do, i just need to be sure on the clutch and throttle cables.

If anyone can hit me with some knowledge it'd be GREATLY appreciated.



Offline DrM

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 457
Re: [Help] Need some guidance with cable lengths for new bars
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2020, 05:15:42 pm »
I have similar, but slightly smaller z-type handlebars.  You'll likely find your OEM stock front brake line very restrictive.  You could just release it at the attachment point on the front fender, or replace it with a longer extended brake line (which is what I did.)  You will likely need to reroute your electrical wiring to the hand controls on the handlebars, which might entail unwrapping some of them to gain more slack.  I didn't have to put on any extended cables on the clutch or throttle, but you might want to reroute those cables to gain more slack, or just buy some extended cables.  A lot of it is trial and error -- take it apart and see what might work by rerouting, and if it isn't enough, then buy some extended cable something between 2" and 6" longer.

Offline joko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 698
Re: [Help] Need some guidance with cable lengths for new bars
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2020, 05:54:03 pm »
I have these tcbros bars:

http://www.tcbroschoppers.com/tcbros-1-slant-z-handlebars-black.html


If I'm doing the conversion right, your bars are slightly wider and taller.

For me, stock cables worked fine but I was pretty much at the limit.  I also had to disconnect the brake line from the fender like DrM mentioned.

If rerouting the cables doesn't work, you'll probably have to get some longer cables, maybe somewhere between 4-6 inches longer I think.

  • Advertisement

Offline shotmybolt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: [Help] Need some guidance with cable lengths for new bars
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2020, 01:15:28 pm »
I think i'll go with +6" as i can deal with some slack, but not coming up short.

Do we know how much longer the yamaha extended cables are?

Offline shotmybolt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: [Help] Need some guidance with cable lengths for new bars
« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2020, 02:11:48 pm »
Ah, extended cables are +2"

Guess i'll spend a little time seeing how close i can get the stock cables and measure from there.

Offline DrM

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 457
Re: [Help] Need some guidance with cable lengths for new bars
« Reply #5 on: July 02, 2020, 04:10:54 pm »
How long your cables need to be also depend on how high your hand grips are going to ride.  If your new bars are mostly pulling back rather than riding high, you may not need much, or any extension after you reroute the cables so they don't wrap around the triple head.  But if you are going straight up above your shoulders, then you might need a lot of extension.  I locate my bars by sitting in the seat normally with the news bars on, and tightened just enough so I can move them up or down and they will stick there.  Then I will simply pull back on them and where they wind up is just where I like them.  That's not necessarily where you want your bars, but I believe you must first set your new bars where you want them, then figure out whether you can reach them by rerouting.

Offline srinath

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 815
Re: [Help] Need some guidance with cable lengths for new bars
« Reply #6 on: July 02, 2020, 04:45:57 pm »
I wonder if its cheaper to buy cables from Yamaha for an SCR.
In the mid 00's we figured naked SV1000 cables and SV1KS cables were the same $$$ from Suzuki even though naked was 4-5" longer.
Cool.
Srinath.

Offline shotmybolt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: [Help] Need some guidance with cable lengths for new bars
« Reply #7 on: July 02, 2020, 05:05:40 pm »
now that is an interesting idea!

Offline shotmybolt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: [Help] Need some guidance with cable lengths for new bars
« Reply #8 on: July 02, 2020, 05:17:00 pm »
Just remembered that Venhill do clutch / throttle / break lines. Made to order. Good quality and great prices. Plus a discount as trade through work.

I'll get my measurements done and i'll 100% be on the phone to them!

Offline rexposeidon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: [Help] Need some guidance with cable lengths for new bars
« Reply #9 on: April 06, 2021, 05:09:42 pm »
I used motion pro extended cables and a custom front brake line from Galfer.  Check them out they do amazing work.
Live to Ride, Ride to Live.