Welcome to the Yamaha Star Bolt Motorcycle Forum

Why join our motorcycle community?

• Membership is free and easy
  • Get technical support and information for your Yamaha Star Bolt motorcycle or search for information before buying
  • Use the member map to find riders near you
  • Participate in our monthly virtual bike show (or at least vote)
  • Get rid of these annoying boxes asking you to register  ;D

More importantly, make new friends!!

Author Topic: Greetings from Tennessee!  (Read 1047 times)

Offline tlaughlin89

Greetings from Tennessee!
« on: September 11, 2020, 02:10:17 pm »
Hello,

My name is Thomas. I am a 30 year old cop/ graduate student from Bristol, Tennessee. I have wanted a bike for a while and I ultimately would like to get a Street Glide; however, I did not want to start on something that big. I grew up riding dirtbikes, which helped me in the MSF class I took a few weeks ago. I will finish my masters degree in early October, so I bought myself an early graduation present. On Tuesday, I bought a 2014 Bolt with 5k miles from Honda of Knoxville. On our maiden voyage yesterday, I took the bolt for a 42 mile stroll. The bike is pretty much all stock except for some LEDs.

I'm debating on whether I want to change the exhaust out. I like the loud, deep tone from a V-twin but I don't want to waste my money. At 6'3" I would also like to move the controls forward a bit. I might also do an Ivan's reflash.

V/r,

Thomas

Offline DrM

Re: Greetings from Tennessee!
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2020, 03:58:07 pm »
Welcome to the Bolt club. 

Offline TerminalVelocity

« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2020, 06:30:24 pm »
Hi Thomas. Those mods are probably the first that many of us do. The Ivan's flash resolved the backfires that I heard before and increased power. Pipes should be loud on this bike. Those would be the first things I'd address. If you move the foot controls, go all the way forward. I believe that mine from low & mean gave me 8"