Yamaha Star Bolt Motorcycle Forum

Yamaha Star Bolt Categories => How To's => Topic started by: sy-lo on May 01, 2021, 12:33:33 pm

Title: where to mount the gps navigator
Post by: sy-lo on May 01, 2021, 12:33:33 pm
Hi guys... I'm looking over the internet but I can't find anything.

I want to buy a GPS Navigator (Tom Tom Rider 550) but I'm wondering where I have to put the mount on my handlebar.

(sorry for the dirtiness but it rain sand today in milan)
(sorry if I put the discussion in the wrong session)

thanks to anyone who will help me
Title: Re: where to mount the gps navigator
Post by: DrM on May 01, 2021, 05:55:33 pm
Looks like you'll be going into the bracket manufacturing business.  I mounted mine to the handle bars, but with those clip-on bars, it looks like you won't be able to do that.  But I do see what looks like two bolt holes underneath the triple tree head facing the gas tank.  If so, you might be able to fasten the bracket your going to make there. 

Alternately, you might be able to slide your mirror clamp one way or the other and see if there is enough space on the bar to mount the GPS unit. 

I don't see any other better places to put it.
Title: Re: where to mount the gps navigator
Post by: lunkhead on May 03, 2021, 02:02:19 am
The steering stem is hollow so you could cut the cap off the nut and use the Rammount that's made to mount to it. (Assuming it uses to same size ball.)

https://www.rammount.com/part/RAM-B-342U
(https://amazon.com/images/I/31pIVwOLevL._AC_SY580_.jpg)
Title: Re: where to mount the gps navigator
Post by: sy-lo on May 03, 2021, 04:45:23 pm
The steering stem is hollow so you could cut the cap off the nut and use the Rammount that's made to mount to it. (Assuming it uses to same size ball.)

https://www.rammount.com/part/RAM-B-342U
(https://amazon.com/images/I/31pIVwOLevL._AC_SY580_.jpg)
so I have to remove this bolt and put the ram mount that you suggest right?
Title: Re: where to mount the gps navigator
Post by: lunkhead on May 04, 2021, 01:10:20 am
It's a nut and the cap of it needs to be drilled or ground off to expose the hole that holds the Rammount.