Welcome to the Yamaha Star Bolt Motorcycle Forum

Why join our motorcycle community?

  • Membership is free and easy
  • Get technical support and information for your Yamaha Star Bolt motorcycle or search for information before buying
  • Use the member map to find riders near you
  • Participate in our monthly virtual bike show (or at least vote)
  • Get rid of these annoying boxes asking you to register  ;D

More importantly, make new friends!!

Author Topic: Speedo replacement?  (Read 780 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rsm688

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Speedo replacement?
« on: October 22, 2015, 04:47:43 pm »
Okay guys, this is not your typical "my speedo is not bright enough thread", I recently picked up a bolt that was a theft recover bike and had a few parts stripped off of it, the speedo and speedo bracket being one. I'm trying to get it back on the road as cheap as possible as I'm a grad student on student loans. I'm looking at at least $300 for the OEM speedo/bracket, has anyone wired up an aftermarket speedo on their bolt? If so what speedo did you use?


Thanks,
Spencer



Offline collins50235

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2402
Re: Speedo replacement?
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2015, 03:26:10 pm »
To the best of my knowledge this still has yet to be done. The speedo is what shows error codes and what not so if you use something else you loose this information. I know of 1 person that fit a V-Star speedo but still had to keep the stock one for this reason. The error codes may not seem like much but the low fuel light is also ran off the speedo so if you get a different one it won't come on at the correct time.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
2014 Bolt - Vayne

Offline ShakerNorm

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5383
Re: Speedo replacement?
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2015, 11:00:09 am »
We've all been howling for a different option for the speedo, but no one has found or made anything that's really compatible with the Bolt electronics, yet.

Of course, the whole engine is run by a computer, so to access any errors, you need something that will play with the stock ECU, and that's the real problem.

I've seen several that I'd really like to have  (I'd much prefer an analog setup), but the electrons just won't talk with each other.

Unfortunately, that means that you're probably stuck with a stock speedo (get the '15 one - it doesn't seem to have the visibility problem of the earlier ones), but if you shop around, there are a few mounting options that might save you a few  $$. 

Seems like there's often a Bolt or two being parted out on ebay, too.
« Last Edit: October 24, 2015, 11:06:08 am by ShakerNorm »
NOBODY hates winter more than a Canadian Biker!

  • Advertisement

Offline Bronxpicman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Speedo replacement?
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2021, 05:48:37 pm »
Okay guys, this is not your typical "my speedo is not bright enough thread", I recently picked up a bolt that was a theft recover bike and had a few parts stripped off of it, the speedo and speedo bracket being one. I'm trying to get it back on the road as cheap as possible as I'm a grad student on student loans. I'm looking at at least $300 for the OEM speedo/bracket, has anyone wired up an aftermarket speedo on their bolt? If so what speedo did you use?


Thanks,
Spencer


Well...Anyone though about replacing Your speedo with anything else apart from KOSO?
Have a look at this photos...
YZF R125 speedo connector looks exactly the same...And Honda NC 700(no idea exact model letters) looks the same...
What would You say?

Offline DrM

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 500
Re: Speedo replacement?
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2021, 10:57:25 am »
@Bronxpicman
This is a pretty old thread your tagging on to.  Just realize that because the connection is similar doesn't necessarily mean it will function the same.  But if you are of a mind to try it out, let us know how it turned out.