Welcome to the Yamaha Star Bolt Motorcycle Forum

Why join our motorcycle community?

  • Membership is free and easy
  • Get technical support and information for your Yamaha Star Bolt motorcycle or search for information before buying
  • Use the member map to find riders near you
  • Participate in our monthly virtual bike show (or at least vote)
  • Get rid of these annoying boxes asking you to register  ;D

More importantly, make new friends!!

Author Topic: HORN stops working - button or horn  (Read 333 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline E

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
HORN stops working - button or horn
« on: June 25, 2020, 11:29:24 am »
Horn works for the first few minutes after starting Bike
10 minutes later, or 5th - 6th attempt BUTTON Pushed In - NO Horn sound
...... has happened the last 8 rides , started last week
Connection at HORN, 2 prongs, feels tight - appears a Okay
BUTTON on handlebar APPEARS okay
(1) take apart the BUTTON on Handlebar and see if the CONTACTS Pieces are cracked, broken, chipped off, OR loose wiring (Ugh on this solution)
(2) Replace HORN - see if that fixes it ?


E - 1st John 4:10

Offline A.T.

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 283
Re: HORN stops working - button or horn
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2020, 11:49:26 am »
Reality is it's probably easier to replace the horn as a test than disassembling the handlebar switch and take a chance of screwing that up.  One nut and two connectors...but your call.

Offline DrM

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
Re: HORN stops working - button or horn
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2020, 12:14:08 pm »
Three things to check:
1.  The horn itself -- you can hook it directly to the battery to see if it honks.  If it honks, then it is ok.

2. The fuse that serves the signaling (turn signals) also serves the horn.  If your turn signals work, then the fuse is OK.  If not, replace the fuse.

3. The control unit (handlebar switch) might have a loose connection. There are a lot of wires going into that switch.  I had a similar problem that I solved just by removing one of the screws holding in the light switch.  I don't why exactly that affected the horn, but removing the screw seemed to solve the problem. 

  • Advertisement

Offline E

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: HORN stops working - button or horn
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2020, 01:31:22 pm »
A.T - thanks, i am leaning at $40 new or $15 used HORN on Ebay
UGH for the handlebar BUTTON switch being the issue, IF I were to loose turn signals etc -ugh
i do use HORN for Warning People - HERE I AM.....do Not pull out in front of me

DrM - i read about your dis-assemble on that Control Box , one loose screw - ugh
i did check my turn signals - they are working - thanks on your input

i did Not power wash the bike, pick it up over my head and body slam it down - Nothing - just HORN stops working after a few tries (for the past week)
odd that HORN works for a handful of attempts - seems to work when i first START riding
 - i am not sure on direct HORN to battery, then trying to make HORN sound off without a switch (Mechanic would use an elec TESTER - my guess)
E - 1st John 4:10

Offline lunkhead

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1444
Re: HORN stops working - button or horn
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2020, 01:47:27 pm »
Tap on the horn with something hard while holding in the button. If it starts working, try tweaking the adjustment screw on the back side if it has one. Usually, it's a phillips held with a locking nut. Works most of the time.
C-SPƎC

Offline olfrt

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • *
  • Posts: 295
Re: HORN stops working - button or horn
« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2020, 04:47:00 pm »
My horn did this, it was the wires broken inside the plastic insulation at the horn end of the wires. They were broken about 1/8th inch in. I replaced the terminals, shortened the wires a little bit and all was good. A couple of months later, it did the same thing. I put it down to vibration at the horn. I added some more length of wire to each, and shrinkwrapped them for an inch. That was 4 years ago, and they havent broken since.
To be old and wise, first you must be young and stupid.

Offline A.T.

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 283
Re: HORN stops working - button or horn
« Reply #6 on: June 25, 2020, 09:19:15 pm »
A.T - thanks, i am leaning at $40 new or $15 used HORN on Ebay
UGH for the handlebar BUTTON switch being the issue, IF I were to loose turn signals etc -ugh
i do use HORN for Warning People - HERE I AM.....do Not pull out in front of me

DrM - i read about your dis-assemble on that Control Box , one loose screw - ugh
i did check my turn signals - they are working - thanks on your input

i did Not power wash the bike, pick it up over my head and body slam it down - Nothing - just HORN stops working after a few tries (for the past week)
odd that HORN works for a handful of attempts - seems to work when i first START riding
 - i am not sure on direct HORN to battery, then trying to make HORN sound off without a switch (Mechanic would use an elec TESTER - my guess)

Go to Autozone or Advance - they sell compatible horns

https://www.autozone.com/collision-body-parts-and-hardware/oe-replacement-horn-kit/duralast-horn-h103/902990_0_0

https://shop.advanceautoparts.com/p/wolo-horn-disc-high-tone-305-2t/10018606-P?searchTerm=horn

Offline E

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: HORN stops working - button or horn
« Reply #7 on: June 26, 2020, 11:41:02 am »
Thanks Crew - BOLTSTERS
odd - my HORN is still working a few times at start of my ride - then push button and NOTHING
lunkhead -
i see that phillips screw adjustment on pictures of back of horn
i will un-bolt the HORN , then have someone push button while i adjust that screw
ofrt -
i will check wiring - i have tugged on those connection prongs onto the HORN , they seems snug (i may need to remove tape to see if wire is broken, cracked)
A.T. -
thanks for the 2 links - $32 for HORN at auto-zone , then the $18 WOLO Horn at Advance has Hi Tone OR low tone (like a car i assume) both state 4.5 amps
....on another POST PAGE , one person said 3.0 Amps is our HORN (although a person replied they installed this WOLO horn
Okay as long as the turn signals, lights ect are NOT all on at the same time - i may blow a fuse (per a fella who installed a European lower car horn - looks like ours but is not available in USA
E - 1st John 4:10

Offline Ghtoh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: HORN stops working - button or horn
« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2020, 12:06:04 am »
I encountered the same issue with the horn few months back. Removed the horn n tweak the philip screw with lock nut,  it works without anymore issues till today... only required very minor adjustments in either clockwise/anticlockwise... it won't work if u adjust too much. Hope it helps to solve your problem.

Offline E

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: HORN stops working - button or horn
« Reply #9 on: June 29, 2020, 06:16:14 pm »
 >:(
I encountered the same issue with the horn few months back. Removed the horn n tweak the philip screw with lock nut,  it works without anymore issues till today... only required very minor adjustments in either clockwise/anticlockwise... it won't work if u adjust too much. Hope it helps to solve your problem.

Thanks - that is what another BOLT poster was reminding me of - that adjustment screw
i still have not adjusted it - and the HORN still works , 77% of the time ---- i hope i adjust it RIGHT (not to tight, or loose - a repeated routine, ugh if that occurs)
"E"
E - 1st John 4:10

Offline 7udro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 269
Re: HORN stops working - button or horn
« Reply #10 on: June 30, 2020, 07:55:50 am »
i neither know where the button Is 😂🙊