Welcome to the Yamaha Star Bolt Motorcycle Forum

Why join our motorcycle community?

  • Membership is free and easy
  • Get technical support and information for your Yamaha Star Bolt motorcycle or search for information before buying
  • Use the member map to find riders near you
  • Participate in our monthly virtual bike show (or at least vote)
  • Get rid of these annoying boxes asking you to register  ;D

More importantly, make new friends!!

Author Topic: Frisco bars problem  (Read 408 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline powdrtostman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Frisco bars problem
« on: December 26, 2016, 07:01:38 PM »
Recently got in Biltwell Frisco bars for my 2016 R-spec. Reading a lot in this forum says they would fir without need for new cables.  However, I'm having an issue with the hand controls on the left. They are just about an inch too far. Anyone having the same issue or any advice?



Offline rigarue

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
Re: Frisco bars problem
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2016, 07:31:24 PM »
If it's like the biltwell keystones on mine is had to reroute all the cables and wires just breath deep and take your time but they do fit

Offline powdrtostman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Frisco bars problem
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2016, 10:26:48 PM »
Thanks. Know any good links for "how to" on that? Afraid that may be beyond my level of expertise.

  • Advertisement

Offline rigarue

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
Re: Frisco bars problem
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2016, 10:35:11 PM »
I don't know of any how to but it can send photos of mine and how it routed them if you think that would help it's not a big undertaking just take your time and don't get frustrated but if you need pics just pm me a cell and I'll send all the pics you want

Offline RudeBoltin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1314
Re: Frisco bars problem
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2016, 10:53:20 AM »
If I recall correctly someone mentioned putting the controls on the bars before mounting the bars in the triple trees. Also I believe there is some slack in the wiring under the gas tank.
Be safe and Bolt on.

Offline frankp07

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Frisco bars problem
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2017, 12:01:33 AM »
I'm not certain what sort of rise the bars have given you but I recently put 10" Justa-Z bars from Licks cycles. If you're only short by an inch with the wiring, you can gain some extra length by removing the fuel tank and rerouting the wire harness. There are 2 bolts to remove the tank and 5 plumbing/electrical connections you will have to loosen. Its best doing this when the tank is not full or with a buddy.

The first part of this vid will explain removing the tank:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xdatjLGLHCk&t=94s

Just take your time :)